Larkie’s Library: “The Modern Guide to Witchcraft: Your Complete Guide to Witches, Covens, & Spells” by Skye Alexander

I finally finished reading my first witchy book and I really liked it. I’ll admit, part of my choosing it was due to convenience (it’s currently available on Amazon for Kindle for free if you have Amazon Prime!) and that I wasn’t sure if I wanted to buy a book to have in my home yet.51ds31x1kfl-_sx334_bo1204203200_ As mentioned in previous posts, I’m still in the broom closet with basically everyone except my husband and I just wasn’t ready to have an actual book here.

So, based on no previous reading material of similar nature mind you, I thought this was a really informative guide. Definitely fairly basic 101 stuff, but not boring. Skye’s writing is well put together and thought out and I liked how technical it was instead of being overly opinionated. While I did know most of this from previous “studies” in my teens (I put studies in quotations due to the fact that my work in learning more about it was minimal and half-assed), I still found it to be a good refresher.

There is a small Grimoire at the end of the book which I also found helpful. The affirmation practice is definitely something I will incorporate in my own Book of Shadows, which I’m still working on as far as correspondences go. I definitely feel a lot more confident in having witchy material in the house now and already have a book list started (Scott Cunningham is in there, of course), so this was a nice baby step for me. I’m excited to really start diving into my studies and see what I can find that speaks to me and can be applicable to my path.

If you are newer to Paganism/witchcraft or if you just like to keep different 101 books around for reference or variety, I would suggest checking this one out. Like I said, if you have Amazon Prime and a Kindle (or Kindle app); this book is available for free through Amazon.

Happy reading and blessed be!

Lark

Leave a Reply

