Celebrating the Vernal Equinox (Ostara)

Happy Ostara (Vernal Equinox) everyone! I felt inspired today since it was a beautiful day yesterday and not as rainy today and decided to celebrate by doing some heavy-duty Spring Cleaning.tumblr_nky067d6io1rtc94lo1_500 I cleaned areas of the house I’ve been neglecting, reorganized my closet, and found some items to donate or toss out that we simply aren’t using anymore. I still have more to do, but I’m trying to mark out time throughout the week to continue the process.

I instantly felt cleaner and lighter by the decluttering and clearing of the spaces that all of that stuff was taking up (which is a bit comical since I’m actually a neat freak, so I was shocked at how much I had hiding at the back of closets that we just don’t need anymore.) It’s re-energized me in several ways and after I had finished, I felt inspired to finally play with my tarot deck since I finished the manual over the weekend.

I found this tarot spread that was based on introducing yourself to your tarot cards on Pinterest a couple of months ago. I’m really glad I kept it to work with. I shuffled my deck by spreading the cards out face down and swirling them around in a clockwise, then counter-clockwise pattern. Then I gathered them up into handfuls, adding each one to either the top or bottom of the deck as it built up. Finally, I did a traditional card shuffle three times. I then laid them out, cut the deck, and drew the cards after reading the question pertaining to that specific card out loud.IMG_4113

My spread was as follows:
Card #1: Nine of Arrows – Dedication
My deck will teach me dedication. I took that as not only a dedication to my path or the current passions I have, but to know what true dedication is and to be a better dedicated person in all aspects that require it.

Card #2: Ten of Vessels – Happiness
My deck needs happiness from me. I took this as that my deck wishes for me to know happiness, but not by design of its work, but of my own discovery. It wants me to feel good thoughts when considering the deck, it wants me to approach it with calmness and positivity. It wants a feeling of mutual safety and purity between us. This is a good reminder, since the political atmosphere has me feeling none of these things a lot of the time.

Card #3: Six of Arrows – Transition
My deck and I’s relationship will surround a transition or multiple transitions really. I took this to mean a lot of things. This is my first tarot deck and, therefore, my first attempt at reading the cards, not to mention this is just another part of my return to the Pagan path which is a transition in and of itself. There’s a lot of learning and growing I need to do here. I’ve also been getting involved in other things outside of spirituality, work, etc. and am attempting to make changes to myself and my life, so I’m interpreting this to mean my tarot deck will be a nice part of that growth and change.

Overall, I was very pleased with this reading and I’m very happy I was able to follow my gut on this purchase. This tarot deck really jumped out at me and after this reading, I feel like it was a good decision. I’m really looking forward to getting more acquainted with the deck and it added onto my feelings of lightness and cleanliness from the organizing I did earlier.

Hoping every had a very productive and happy Vernal Equinox!
Blessed be!

Lark

Leave a Reply

