Larkie’s Library: Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children Trilogy

Thought I’d end my blog absence with a quick book review…well, more like three book reviews. I recently finished the Peculiar Children Series and thought it was “witchy” enough that it might be fun to mention here. It didn’t take long to finish and was actually pretty scary at times, which I rather enjoyed.e6d2ff9dbd6d031bc65de02047a01af8

The first, “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” was probably the ‘scariest’ for me. Maybe because I wasn’t yet used to the creepy photos in the book or the description of the evil creatures hunting the children known as hollowghasts. The writing wasn’t spectacular, but it definitely drummed up excellent imagery for me (highly active imagination as it is) and my heart picked up speed at the dramatic points in the story. You follow the story narrated by the main character, Jacob Portman, as he discovers the peculiar past of his grandfather. He meets Miss Peregrine and her wards, gets into trouble with hollows and wights who hunt peculiars, and then goes on a journey to save Miss Peregrine’s and the children’s home/lives. (I know that’s not a great summary, but I don’t want to give too much away). It ends with Jacob and his new friends heading out on their mission and left me excited to start the second book.

The second book, “Hollow City” was actually my favorite. It felt action packed from start to finish and was nearly impossible to put down (the first was much the same as far as difficulty in putting down, but obviously not quite as gripping since, as it should be, the first book in a series has to set up the story). It was less scary, but more mysterious and filled with a lot of close calls and not-so close calls. You learn (along with Jacob and the other peculiar children) a bit more about the world of the peculiar in this book. The ending was such a twist that I went out and bought the third book the very next day.

The third book, “Library of Souls” is the conclusion of Jacob Portman’s story in his mission to stop the wights and hollows and essentially save all of Peculiardom. I finished this book in about 24 hours. It was no longer so much scary as it was frustrating; it seemed at every turn they were hitting roadblocks or perfect chances were slipping from their fingers. There are a couple of battles and a few more twists in this story. You’ll meet characters you aren’t sure you can trust and learn if your gut was right or not. And once everything seems to be fairly packaged up, another wrench is thrown in the gears. Ultimately, I loved the book and thought the story was well put together.

The series as a whole was a lot of fun and a great escape from reality. The world is not only peculiar, but magical and helped me get back to a more witchy mindset. As a result, I’ve started reading my actual witchy books again and am feeling motivated to keep on myself in doing weekly meditation and yoga sessions to keep my mind clear and at more peace (which has been a difficult feat as of late). So if you haven’t read these books yet, I definitely recommend them for an easy and exciting read to clear your mind and escape for a bit.

Blessed be!

Lark

Leave a Reply

