Blessed Yule! Joyous Winter Solstice!

yule-welcome-mat

Today marks the shortest day of the year; the Winter Solstice (also called Yule). We celebrate the end of the dark, and the return of light. The Sun God is born, the Oak King is returning to life as the Holly King begins his descent to the Underworld (or so I understand from the lore).
Tonight is also known as the first night of Yule which is commonly referred to “Mother’s Night.” With it being the middle of the week and me living so far from my mother, I didn’t get a chance to honor her the way I wanted, so instead I saved wrapping her gift until tonight and thought about her often (as well as other Motherly figures in my life). I also made sure to appreciate Mother Earth as I walked outside and enjoyed her beauty.
For Yule, I made bird seed ornaments and hung them around different areas (some in my yard and some in public places) as offerings to the birds and squirrels (and any other animals that care to partake) as another way to honor Mother Nature. It’s very possible that I’m doing it wrong, but I’m still learning haha. I will try to be good about posting once a day for each of the 12 Days of Yule.
I hope everyone has been having a great week and has a very blessed first night of Yule. Be safe, be positive, be kind.

Blessed be!

Lark

4 thoughts on “Blessed Yule! Joyous Winter Solstice!

  1. Sounds lovely! You’re not doing it wrong, don’t worry! There’s no real right or wrong here, you are free to create your own rituals based on what you feel is right. Have a great Yule!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 🙂 This is my first attempt at properly celebrating the Sabbats, so I’m happy to know I’m not going too off course with how I do things 😀 That’s the thing I loved most about Paganism and what made me return; it seems a lot less judgmental, preachy, and strict than many other religions. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh I’m sure we have our share of strict and preachy people too. ^^ But best not pay too much attention to them. If you ask me then I’d say, take your time in learning and developing! It doesn’t have to start out perfect – every year and every experience will help build your practice, step by step. Enjoy the exploration!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

