Christianity vs Paganism

So this is my continuation from the last post. I would like to add that I noticed a few typos from the last entry which I would like to apologize for (I’m sure I’ve had others); it serves me right for only using spell check and not actually proof reading as well. Ugh, that stuff makes me feel like such a moron.

Moving on!

So, this is not a battle royale of religious beliefs blog post. No.
Actually it’s a blog post basically complaining and poking fun 386d0a558868a86be4e09f6cce1c2220at this match up and the negativity and vitriol each religion directs at each other. Okay, I take that back, the religions do not fight, it’s the followers. This is making fun and shaming the followers that choose to engage in this ridiculous behavior.

Please remember, I am Pagan, so the fact that I used a Pagan meme is not meant to showcase who this blog post is directed towards. I’m merely using it as an example. Mostly because when I saw it on Pinterest my reaction to it was to scoff and roll my eyes.

Of course, this could be a sort of Neopagan Atheist meme, which if so, fine, but I have seen cases where Pagans who worship deities shared this same sentiment in a way and I honestly think it’s silly. I totally understand the bitterness towards Christianity felt by Pagans. The past between these two systems of faith has been…not great, to put it nicely. But does that mean we should continue the trend by being so judgmental and critical of them in present times? Especially if those criticisms of their beliefs could be applied to our own? I think it’s a bit of a waste of time.

I do think things like the book of Leviticus are totally up for judgement since it kind of goes against what Christianity stands for, or at least what I was brought up to believe it stands for which is the word of Christ himself and the 10 Commandments (e.g. “Love thy neighbor” being nonjudgmental, not stealing, killing, or feeling envious or hateful, and being accepting and loving; whereas stoning divorced women and hating homosexuals is not really in line with that idea, so there’s a lot of hypocritical crap in the Bible, in my opinion).
But, poking fun at the existence of their God is just really silly (as the above meme seems to do). As Pagans, we are supposed to be polytheistic right? And not all Pagans worship the same Gods/Goddesses, correct? So, if I were to claim I worshipped Freya and Thor, but told a worshipper of Persephone and Apollo they were wrong or they’re Deities didn’t exist, I would be wrong for doing it. So why is it okay to claim the Abrahamic God doesn’t exist or make fun of people for believing in Him? Actually, I think it should be considered that He does exist, He just has a different set of rules and prefers His followers to be monogamous to Him and Him alone.

Now onto the Christians. Seriously? Your religion is based off of the teachings of Christ (who, of course, did exist; we all know that…whether he was merely a philosopher preaching about basic human decency or the actual son of God is up for debate) yet you’re going to go ahead and allow the writings of other men who were kings and leaders of cities to dictate the religion you follow? Men who probably made these rules according to their own comfort or ideas of how they believe the world should work instead of the words of your God? Interesting. You’re no better than anyone else and what others believe is none of your concern; it’s none of our concerns so long as we aren’t harming each other in the name of our beliefs. As far as Pagan Gods/Goddesses existence goes, the first commandment in the Christian Bible says “Thou salt have no other gods before me” which means, the Abrahamic God, your God acknowledges the existence of other deities. I take this to mean that He simply feels if you are to follow Him, then He needs to be the only deity in your life, so telling Pagans or other polytheists they are full of it and their Gods don’t exist is not really true nor is it very nice.

So enough of the childish banter. People should be able to believe and worship however they want. I do think the majority of Christians and Pagans feel this way towards each other, but there are those few who seem to enjoy putting down the other’s religion and their followers and I think we’re all better than that. I think our God(s)/Goddess(es) feel we are better than that as well and expect more from us.
Be kind, be accepting, but don’t let others treat you badly either.
Today’s post might be rambly and scolding, but it comes from a place of love (and a few rum and cokes; I’ll admit…it’s a Friday).

I hope everyone has a great weekend, be safe, and blessed be!

Lark

2 thoughts on “Christianity vs Paganism

  1. I can understand why some Pagans are so quick to dismiss the existence of Yahweh, Jesus and Satan; they want to put as much conceptual difference between themselves and the religious milieu in which they were raised as possible. The problem I have with this, though, is that it’s extremely hypocritical. I totally agree with you that for a polytheist to dismiss the existence of these entities would be like dismissing the existence of Thor or Freya. For me at least, I think it’s all or nothing; either all Gods are real, or none of Them are. And since I’m pretty sure my God and Goddess are real (though I’m not always sure what “real” actually means), I like to give Yahweh, Jesus, Satan, and every other religious figure the benefit of the doubt.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

