Witchy Things – My Third Eye

Story time/randomness!

When I was little I saw spirits; primarily family members. This is not just a memory of mine, but it is something that is confirmed through anecdotal evidence from other witnesses; those being my family mostly. I don’t remember much about the first spirit I saw who hung around fairly often (my grandpa who passed a while before I was born), but my parents said that at first I was afraid of this spirit. I would get nervous and point him out, but I think I started to lighten up once my aunt figured out it was my grandpa and told me.
A couple years later, my great-grandpa passed and appeared to me the night of his death. He sat down and told me not to be afraid of “us” (not sure if he meant only my family members or if he meant spirits in general) and that,”…we will always protect you.” Then he said he loved me and was gone. This was pretty much the beginning of my spiritual path and I was only 4. My parents weren’t particularly religious and would answer any religious type questions to the best of their abilities, but they allowed me to choose on my own for the most part. As I got older, my ability to see spirits went way, but sensing them or having them come to me in dreams has remained.
I could also see auras, especially if someone was about to die. The person would have an almost ethereal glow surrounding them and a few days to a week later they’d pass. Auras aren’t as clear to me now, I really only notice them when someone is impassioned; I remember in college seeing the aura of my African American Studies professor while he was talking about a particular event during the Civil Rights Movement…it was a gorgeous green; energizing and thoughtful.
I’ve also had moments where I’ve predicted certain events within hours or minutes before it happened; this was mostly in middle and high school. My cat dying was one; he was just a kitten and had his booster appointment and the thought popped into my head,”What if my kitten died today?” I remember feeling disgusted by that thought and then feeling guilty and terrible when, later at his appointment, he collapsed and the vets discovered he had Feline Leukemia and would need to be euthanized. I also predicted a friend’s car crash (he survived and was fine), but it scared me, because again the thought,”What if they get in an accident?” popped in and I said it out loud to other friends I was traveling with. a few minutes later we rounded a corner and there was my friend, pulled over on the side of the road after being rear-ended (everyone in the van screamed, because holy shit didn’t I just say that? haha). The thing is, these thoughts didn’t actually come to me as a “what if” scenario; they were more definite, but I would word them as “what if” because I hated to think that something bad would happen like that.
As I look more into walking the Pagan/Wiccan path again, there is a part of me that is nervous to get these talents back or at least strengthen them. I had a dream last week about a family member who is currently battling an incurable and terminal illness. I was injured in the dream and the pain felt so real, it was crazy. Then I lost feeling and eventually woke up. I found out a few days later that this family member who was with me in the dream actually lost feeling in the same limb I injured in my dream and fell over. And it happened to them on that same night that I had the dream.
Now, of course, all of these things could be explained by coincidence and other random natural occurrences, but it does freak me out a bit. And while I am a little scared to strengthen these parts of me; I’m also excited to see how far they go and where they lead me.

If you have any neat or interesting stories about prophetic dreams, seeing/sensing spirits, or other third eye type gifts, feel free to share; I always love these kinds of stories 🙂
Until next time; blessed be!

Larkie

Leave a Reply

